cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Request Body in Rest API Pipeline

giselle_rayner
New Contributor

I am new to APIs and trying to develop a simple pipeline.
I am authenticating and then searching by first name and last name and expecting the call to return the IDs associated with the person (in this case Roy Graham).

In the pipeline I am first using a Rest Post to Authenticate and then using a mapper to parse out the authentication parameters from the response header that are needed for the subsequent post/get calls. I am then using a copy / join those headers with a JSON generator. In the JSON generator I am inputting request body that I need in order to make the Rest Post Search call.

{
โ€œFirstNameโ€: โ€œRoyโ€,
โ€œLastNameโ€: โ€œGrahamโ€
}

However I am getting a user not authorized error in the Rest POST call. I do not receive the same error when using a REST get call which leads me to believe its how I am handling/inputting the request body? What is the best way in Snaplogic to input the request body into a Rest Post call?

โ€œerror_entityโ€: โ€œ{โ€œmessageโ€:โ€œUser not authorizedโ€}โ€

Any assistance is greatly appreciatedImage (11.7 KB)

search_join

8 REPLIES 8

nganapathiraju
Former Employee

Not sure why you are copying and joining back?

If it is just to add the firstname and lastname to the document, then you can do all of them in one single mapper. You could be done in just 3 snaps. Here I do in 4 snaps.

$ or whatever variable you want to pass can be put in HTTP entity of the Rest POST

First thing is to make sure this works from your PostMan before making this work on this platform.

This will give you a validation on what to pass and what not to pass.

Hope that makes sense.

Are you sure you are constructing the correct Cookie value? What API is this?

giselle_rayner
New Contributor

Hi there,
To answer your questions.