cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm completely stuck trying to write JSON to CSV - it's been 4 days. Can anyone help?

fatsnowball
New Contributor II

I’m brand new to Snaplogic and this is probably really easy - sorry in advance! But I’ve been stuck on this since Thursday, and it’s now Tuesday… please help me.

As a whole, I have this:

In more detail:

I have a JSON splitter, which has an output of the JSON I want to write to a CSV. And, if I preview the output in table view, it looks exactly like the CSV I want (I had an image here, but new users can only put one - sorry!). Previewing in JSON shows that it’s, well, JSON.

After that, I have a CSV formatter, but I don’t have anything configured in it. Should I? The output view for this is more or less empty, so this clearly isn’t correct. I’ve tried JSON formatters and a million other things here. I just don’t know.

Then I have my file writer (and as a bonus, I want only some of the fields from the JSON to be written to the CSV file).

I can do it in Python:

# Call the API
r = requests.get(url_to_call, headers = headers)
json_to_write = r.json()

# Open a file for writing
outfile = open(file_name,'w')
writer=csv.writer(outfile)

# Write CSV Header Row
writer.writerow(["Id", "FirstName", "LastName"])

# Loop through each line of the JSON; print key values needed
for x in json_to_write:
    writer.writerow([x["Id"],
                x["FirstName"],
                x["LastName"]])

I found this post on turning JSON to CSV by @dmiller and this post on writing a Twitter Query to a file, but as far as I can tell, those are just “use these snaps” without showing how the snaps are configured, and I’ve tried those configurations of snaps.

I’m so lost. Any help appreciated.

9 REPLIES 9

tstack
Former Employee

Hmm, can you reply to your own message with the screenshot of the preview to workaround?

(We might want to look into removing this restriction)