Passing parameters/session variables between nested pipelines/snaps

Early warning - I’m a newbie to the platform…

I want to wrap up various bits of logic/lookups/data retrieval in reusable pipelines that mask the underlying complexity (eg finding and reading a particular data source without knowing the storage protocol, access keys etc), but cant get to grips with passing metadata in and out between pipelines and snaps. Should I be passing a [control] document stream in (with 1 doc, eg a json containing key/value metadata pairs) so that i can pass onwards to the next step (and another doc stream with some actual data documents) rather than passing parameters (which I cant see a way of updating/passing out again)?

If it should be via parameters I’d need to use the Script snap to read/write these, but cant find any examples/refs for reading pipeline parameters or writing/updating parent parameters? Just input/output/error/log objects available via Script snap?

If its via a control/metadata doc is there a way to define the document schema so i can use mapper/filter etc or will I just need to handwrite some python/javascript to read/parse/do-work/create-updated-metadata-doc/self.output.write(newmetadata) ?

Thanks,
Mike

If you have sample pipelines, seeing those would be helpful, if possible.

While the exact answer is going to depend on application, I’d generally say to use documents if you are going to be using Pipeline Execute (https://doc.snaplogic.com/wiki/display/SD/Pipeline+Execute), since with reuse turned on (e.g., you spin up the child pipeline once, instead of spinning it up and tearing it down per document) the pipeline parameters can only be set once.