cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debugging Javascript - General Guidance

ForbinCSD
Contributor

I’m looking for General Guidance, not a solution to a specific problem!

I have a lot of experience programming in server-side languages like C++, C#, T-SQL, PL/SQL, and others… but am very much a newbie at Javascript. (When my employers’ pipelines use a Script snap, we solely use Javascript, not Python nor Ruby.)

How do other Snaplogic users debug the JS in their script snaps?

I’ve been largely just writing the equivalent of “print” statements by creating a debug object or a set of “trace” properties in the document stream. But that’s a rather hamfisted and slow-going method for debugging.

I seem to recall that SnapLogic uses (used?) the Nashorn engine, but now that Snaplexes are on Java 11, is that still true? There’s the “NCDbg” project on GitHub, which provides a debugger for Nashorn that can connect to Visual Studio Code (VSCode) as a front-end… but it can only handle JS atop an underlying Java 8 or 9 JVM. I’m wondering if there is something similar that would match up more closely with the SnapLogic engines and environment.

What do the rest of you do when you want to debug a script snap?

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6

Thanks, AkiDave. I think of the three options you present, only the third pair are viable: logging and/or externally debugging. If I’m troubleshooting someone else’s implementation of XTEA (or something else not built into Snaplogic), for example, I’m not going to be able to break that into expressions in a mapping snap. And I don’t have the budget to sidetrack an entire developer for a while and have them learn to implement a custom debugging snap — we would have done that long ago if we had known that was going to be something we needed.